Why Enter

Your work will be judged by an international panel of judges, who are chosen for their diversity of professional expertise within the design industry, with a mix of viewpoints to promote critical debate about the work. We aim to facilitate an overview of the best contemporary practice in international design, to serve as a reference source and archive of typographic excellence.

Successful entrants will win one of the following levels of awards, be invited to an Awards ceremony and have their work published in a book to celebrate the 2024 Awards.

The three levels of awards for each category are:

Awarded to all successful entrants

Given to each outstanding submission

Awarded for outstanding typographic achievement

Freda Sack
Photo by Kevin Smith

The Freda Sack Award has been created in memory of Freda Sack (1951-2019), a dedicated and highly accomplished type designer and typographer, who brought together the best of craft and technology with unparalleled knowledge, understanding and talent. ISTD are indebted to her invaluable commitment to our Society, through which she tirelessly helped to improve standards in typography, both in education and industry. After time as Co-chair, and Chair, she became ISTD President-elect in 2004 and was President from 2006-2010. She was awarded an Honorary Fellowship in 2018 for her exceptional contribution to the Society.